Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

DATUK ABDULLAH KARIM, aged 67, was appointed to our Board as Independent Non-Executive Director on 31 March 2017 and had been re-designated as Senior Independent Non-Executive Director on 13 November 2018.


  • Nominating And Remuneration Committee (Appointed as Chairman effective from 1 September 2018)
  • Audit Committee (Member)


  • Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Western Australia
  • Diploma in Gas Engineering from the Illionis Institute of Technology, USA


Datuk Abdullah Karim has over 39 years experience in the oil and gas (O&G) industry, having had a long career with Petroliam Nasional Berhad (“PETRONAS”) which he joined in 1977. From July 2012 till his retirement in July 2016, he was Vice President (VP)/Venture Director, LNG Projects where he was tasked to oversee the design and construction of two offshore Floating LNG Plants (FLNG); and the additional onshore LNG Plant (Train-9) in Bintulu, Sarawak.

Datuk Abdullah has also served as Project Engineer (1981) and General Manager Engineering Division (1991) of PETRONAS Carigali Sdn Bhd . He became the Executive Assistant to the President of PETRONAS (1994) after which he was the MD/ CEO of OGP Technical Services an Engineering and Project Management subsidiary company of PETRONAS until 1999.

In 1999, he became the MD/CEO of Malaysia LNG Group of Companies, responsible for marketing of LNG and the operations of PETRONAS LNG Complex in Bintulu. During his tenure, the Company had successfully built the additional third LNG Plant in the Complex.

He was also VP, Exploration & Production Business (2004), before being appointed in 2007 as the MD/CEO of PETRONAS Carigali, a wholly owned subsidiary of PETRONAS involved in O&G exploration, development and production in Malaysia as well as in 23 countries worldwide till 2012.

He was appointed as Independent Non-Executive Director and also a member of Audit Committee, Nomination and Remuneration Committee and Risk Committee of Yinson Holdings Berhad effective from 16 October 2018.


  • Icon Offshore Berhad
  • Uzma Berhad
  • Yinson Holdings Berhad